View Poll Results: which chip would you get?

Voters
3. You may not vote on this poll
  • AMD chip system

    0 0%
  • Intel Pentium chip system

    3 100.00%
  • other chip system

    0 0%
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: INTEL vs. AMD?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    St. Louis, Missouri USA
    Posts
    24

    Default INTEL vs. AMD?

    hey there folks,

    I'm getting ready to build my editing machine (under $1000) and was wondering what the ratio was out there with Intel Pentium4 vs. AMD type chips.

    Am I paying for the name on Intel chip? like let's say Puma shoes vs. noname company?

    I know when you want to play games out tha wazzu, you go with AMD.

    how is it with Video editing?

    thanks in advance for your time and consideration,

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,514
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    Traditionally Intel has consistently outperformed AMD in encoding speeds. This has remained true right up to the new dual core chips, where there's no choice between the two anymore. I would advise you check out the benchmarks at tomshardware.com

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    1,893

    Default

    If you're sticking with single core - go for intel for their encoding speed advantage. If you're going dual core (which, for under $1000, probably not), go for AMD.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    St. Louis, Missouri USA
    Posts
    24

    Default

    I was thinking single core for the moment.

    Abit AA8XE Intel Socket 775 ATX Motherboard (there are so many to choose from....????)

    Intel Pentium 4 550 3.4GHz Processor
    4GB DDR/533 MEM.
    2x 250GB SATA drives (setup as RAID0)
    2x 40 IDE Drives (I already have these)
    case

    for about $950.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,514
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    Why 4GB of RAM? You'll have to get four sticks of 1GB and that won't be cheap! Don't forget to spec a graphics card (that mobo doesn't have onboard).

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,514
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    koolage > your topic notifcation email just got bounced. Could you confirm your address via email.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    St. Louis, Missouri USA
    Posts
    24

    Default

    ok. email should be working again...had some issues...

    about the 4GB Marc, it's Kingston 2x1024MB DDR2/533 chip for $214.99...so with that price I might as well get 2.

    check it out:

    http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...?EdpNo=1010980

  8. #8

    Default

    I'd go for just 2 gigs of RAM and use the extra money to get a faster processor, like a 3.6 or 3.8 gig.

    I would recommend AMD to you for the 64-bit thing and all, but now that Intel is including 64-bit extensions in their processors, it's no longer a distinct advantage of AMD. :cry:

    Also, Intel produces their own 915 chipset motherboard called the 915GEVL for about $100, so it's a tad cheaper than the one you had. The primary difference between the 915 and the 925XE you had chosen, is no support for the 1.06GHz FSB.
    AMD Sempron 2600+ (Socket 754; 1.6GHz)
    Chaintech VNF3-250
    768MB Crucial PC2100 (I know, I really need PC3200 :()
    ATI Radeon 9200

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Troutdale Oregon
    Posts
    29

    Default

    i bought my a1020n for $650 plus a rebate for like $150 off, the initial cost for everything in the end excluding editing programs was about $1200, i get better speed and performance from this computer, if i was to buy a $1200 computer it really wouldnt compare, glad you decided to build a performance computer, it really is cheaper.
    Pentium 4 Cpu H/T 3.7GHz
    2x 1GB DDR2 533 RAM PC2 4200 Memory Upgrade Kit
    Internal WD SATA Caviar SE 250GB 7200RPM Hard Drive w/ external WD Extreme Lighted Series II Drive 320 GB Hard Drive
    HP 16x DVD(+/-)R/RW DL LightScribe drive
    Adobe Preimire pro 1.5.1,Encore dvd 1.5,Audition 1.5,After Effects pro 6.5.1,Photoshop CS2!!
    CANON GL2,CANON XL2,Sony HDV-FX1

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    1,612

    Default

    hm... this poll was closed by the time i saw it...
    i go for amd. i have an athlon64 and it rocks!

Similar Threads

  1. Imac Intel + Sony HDR-SR1
    By Michaelangelo in forum The Perfect Video Editing PC
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-18-2007, 09:25 AM
  2. What software for a Intel Mac?
    By adrianko in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-14-2006, 08:29 AM
  3. Intel or AMD
    By ryanlc in forum The Perfect Video Editing PC
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 06-25-2006, 12:58 AM
  4. Opteron/Xeon VS AMDx2/Intel-D
    By Washburn in forum The Perfect Video Editing PC
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-14-2006, 09:29 PM
  5. AMD vs. Intel
    By snapware in forum The Perfect Video Editing PC
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 03-19-2006, 08:43 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •