Thread: PC or Mac

Default PC or Mac

Let me first start of by short introducing myself. I'm a 19 years old student who lives in The Netherlands. I'm studing video-editing and some other things that have to do with it. Now my problem is:

My edit set in my own room is not that great, you can better say kinda
    poor. I have a Windows XP Computer but it's not really great for editing. Now, I bought that computer a few years ago, and I can still build in alot of things, such as: RAM memory, more memory, building in 64bit (Now I have 32bit) etc.... That will make the editing much better and faster right?

I'm considering two things, 1. Just build in my XP with more RAM etc... or 2. Buying a Mac of Macbook.
    You must understand that I'm still a 19 years old student with a low budget... What is the best thing to do?

I used both and my personal opinion is that just performance and usability (concerning video editing) do not justify the higher price of a Mac especially as you are on a budget. I would tune the PC.

Blog Entries

The thing about Macs is... they work.

You switch it on, it works. You install a program, it works. Ten years later, it's still working.

If you have the skill and patience to tweak, install, de-install, fiddle, wait and re-boot. A PC will do the same job but cheaper.

You will always find some twat who knows someone who had a friend whose mac broke in 2005 but, generally speaking, Macs work and that's what you pay for. Reliability.

Do not, however, make the mistake of comparing Mac specs with PC specs. The Mac O/S works completely differently than a PC so you will tend to get more for less, if you get my meaning.

But neither is "better" they are just different.

It's like comparing a Ford to a Mercedes. Both do the job but one is considerably cheaper, the other is more reliable.