Thread: cant capture/import files from my camcorder

Default cant capture/import files from my camcorder

Hello all

I am very new to video editing. I have a Panasonic VDR-M50 DVD camcorder that I have been using. Now I want to start taking my videos and making them into movies. They first problem that I have is that my camcorder does not have a IEEE1394 (firewire) port! [Relly wish I would have researched it more before buying]. Well anyway, I have to x-fer the movies to my computer via the USB. I guess.

I was told that I could take the recorded, finalized disk and play it and read/view/copy the clips via my DVD-RW or Rom drive. however, neither drive will read the disk.

The files, once I finalize the disk, are in .vob format. Also there are only 2 total .vob files and there are about 25 - 30 clips. (Like when I review the disk contents directly on the camcorder). My questions are how can I x-fer these .vob files to be edited. I did try to use one program to convert them to DivX, but the divx file from the 30 min disk turned out to be 40 GIGS!!! I know it should not be that big.

What do I need to do to x-fer these clips to my computer. I was able to get Adobe Premiere Pro, and would like to capture and edit them in here. Then burn them onto DVDs using my DVD-RW. HELP!!

Blog Entries

Welcome.

It's covered in the FAQ - http://www.videoforums.co.uk/guide-faq-90.htm#9

Default VirtualDub Error message at save

Thanks for the info.

I downloaded both of the apps listed in the FAQ. I was able to successfully open the video into VirtualDub, following the steps listed. I selected Compression -> Panasonic DV Codec

when I go the "save as" the video, I get an VirtualDub error message stating "Cannot Start video compression The source image format is not acceptable (error code -2)

Can you PLEASE help!?!?!?

Blog Entries

Are you sure that you have set the video size to either 720x480 or 720x576?