Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Newbie Problems with new Camera

  1. #1

    Default Newbie Problems with new Camera

    Hi guys this is my first post here! So here is the story, I just bought a brand new Digital Cam. Its the Samsung SC-X105L. This the the sport camera that is super compact and has an external cam for mounting to your head and doing extreme sports. The cam is awesome and I love it. The problem comes when I edit it.

    The camera automatically compresses the video to MPEG4. To capture, the camra sits in a cradle and everything is sent via USB 2.0. When I import my video into either of my editors (Movie Maker 2, an Pinnacle Studio 9 plus) it is perfectly fine. However, if I edit the video clip at all the entire movie is played as a green screen and the audio remains intact.

    I have the Pinnacle 9 Mpeg4 plugin and everything. I am not too concerned about perfect quality or anything, I just want to edit my clips in a nice way and burn them on a dvd to show my friends or save 'em on my PC to show on the net.

    So guys, what am I doing wrong here? I get a flat green image if I edit my videos at all but the sound stay fine. what could this be? Thanks guys!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,514
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    MPEG4 editing can't be pretty. Too much intraframe compression going on (although the plugin should deal with that). Try How to edit MPEG

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Glasgow
    Posts
    766

    Default

    i'd really advise you to load it into vdub and export as a dv-avi.
    AMD Athlon 1700 (@2200mhz from 1466 sod the noise!) - 768mb pc3200 - 200GB Maxtor - Pioneer 106 - GF4 Ti4200 - twinhan/visionplus pci dvb-t - random pci analogue tv tuner - A7v600-x (to replace the a7n8x-d that died...) - random 17\" CRT
    Sony STR-DE425 & Eltax c205s;
    xBox w/20GB HDD- executer 2.3b;
    xBox - standard;
    Konica/Minolta dimage z10 w/2x512mb SD;
    iRiver h340;
    A silly amount of Cat-5 and usb cables

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,514
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mrlipring
    i'd really advise you to load it into vdub and export as a dv-avi.
    As did I.

  5. #5

    Default

    because its mpeg4 it is actually a .avi file. So I tried the method above and it does nto work because the Vdub does support the file type.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Glasgow
    Posts
    766

    Default

    hehe marc.

    must admit, i didn't read your link. I thought it might've been a link to the redo (?) guide.

    if vdub won't open an avi, then you don't have the proper codec installed. i work with mpeg4 constantly. Virtualdub is rarely NOT on my screen. (albeit minimised and crunching away)

    install the codec! (and use gspot to find out exactly what codec you need!)
    AMD Athlon 1700 (@2200mhz from 1466 sod the noise!) - 768mb pc3200 - 200GB Maxtor - Pioneer 106 - GF4 Ti4200 - twinhan/visionplus pci dvb-t - random pci analogue tv tuner - A7v600-x (to replace the a7n8x-d that died...) - random 17\" CRT
    Sony STR-DE425 & Eltax c205s;
    xBox w/20GB HDD- executer 2.3b;
    xBox - standard;
    Konica/Minolta dimage z10 w/2x512mb SD;
    iRiver h340;
    A silly amount of Cat-5 and usb cables

  7. #7

    Default

    it keeps telling me the source image format is unacceptable. any suggestions? I used Gspot and it said I have the codec installed

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Glasgow
    Posts
    766

    Default

    i don't have a scooby. What codecs is it using?
    AMD Athlon 1700 (@2200mhz from 1466 sod the noise!) - 768mb pc3200 - 200GB Maxtor - Pioneer 106 - GF4 Ti4200 - twinhan/visionplus pci dvb-t - random pci analogue tv tuner - A7v600-x (to replace the a7n8x-d that died...) - random 17\" CRT
    Sony STR-DE425 & Eltax c205s;
    xBox w/20GB HDD- executer 2.3b;
    xBox - standard;
    Konica/Minolta dimage z10 w/2x512mb SD;
    iRiver h340;
    A silly amount of Cat-5 and usb cables

  9. #9

    Default

    It says its using a DIVX custom decoder filter

  10. #10

    Default

    I solved the problem. Samsung uses thier own type of format. To transfer this format into something workable you must use thier piece of crap video editing software. What you do is place it in the timeline and save the file as an avi. I am now free to edit the file as I please in my own editing software. Thanks for the help anyways guys. I appreciate it.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Newbie - Problems capturing video
    By Baino in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-15-2006, 12:27 AM
  2. recording from camera problems :(
    By Seejay in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-03-2006, 10:41 PM
  3. Newbie with a Camera
    By Davidvdw in forum Forum Announcements and News
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-18-2005, 09:34 PM
  4. JVC GRDX25 Problems Please Help Newbie
    By matt_boy in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-18-2005, 05:05 PM
  5. Jvc Camera problems?
    By STE7 in forum Technology advice and tips
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-04-2004, 08:45 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •