Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Capturing

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Cambridge
    Posts
    8

    Default Capturing

    Hi, I have a Sony DCR-PC9E MiniDV Handycam, and I've tried capturing video from it using Premiere 6.5 and Windows Movie Maker, but it doesn't seem to pick up the camera. In Device Manager, under Imaging Devices the camera isn't there, I've connected it via a 1394 Firewire Cable and when I plug it in, it says "DV In" on the camera. I'm pretty sure I'm on the right mode on the actual camera.

    Can someone help out?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Glasgow
    Posts
    766

    Default

    sounds like the drivers for your dv card/ports aren't installed.
    AMD Athlon 1700 (@2200mhz from 1466 sod the noise!) - 768mb pc3200 - 200GB Maxtor - Pioneer 106 - GF4 Ti4200 - twinhan/visionplus pci dvb-t - random pci analogue tv tuner - A7v600-x (to replace the a7n8x-d that died...) - random 17\" CRT
    Sony STR-DE425 & Eltax c205s;
    xBox w/20GB HDD- executer 2.3b;
    xBox - standard;
    Konica/Minolta dimage z10 w/2x512mb SD;
    iRiver h340;
    A silly amount of Cat-5 and usb cables

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Cambridge
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mrlipring
    sounds like the drivers for your dv card/ports aren't installed.
    What drivers do I need exactly?

    I'm not sure if I have a DV port/card :s

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Glasgow
    Posts
    766

    Default

    your firewire/1394/ilink card.

    It'll either be built into the MoBo, in which case download 'em off your MoBo manufacturer's site, or find out who makes your pci card and get them from them.

    it MIGHT be a case of turning firewire on in the bios.
    AMD Athlon 1700 (@2200mhz from 1466 sod the noise!) - 768mb pc3200 - 200GB Maxtor - Pioneer 106 - GF4 Ti4200 - twinhan/visionplus pci dvb-t - random pci analogue tv tuner - A7v600-x (to replace the a7n8x-d that died...) - random 17\" CRT
    Sony STR-DE425 & Eltax c205s;
    xBox w/20GB HDD- executer 2.3b;
    xBox - standard;
    Konica/Minolta dimage z10 w/2x512mb SD;
    iRiver h340;
    A silly amount of Cat-5 and usb cables

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Cambridge
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Ok....how do I do that?

    Is there an online tutorial or something, because I'm sure that would solve my troubles.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Glasgow
    Posts
    766

    Default

    i don't know what board/card you have. check your manuals. google it. dig out your driver cds.

    Without knowing what hardware you've got, i can't help, and i probably won't have specific knowledge of that particular card/mobo.
    AMD Athlon 1700 (@2200mhz from 1466 sod the noise!) - 768mb pc3200 - 200GB Maxtor - Pioneer 106 - GF4 Ti4200 - twinhan/visionplus pci dvb-t - random pci analogue tv tuner - A7v600-x (to replace the a7n8x-d that died...) - random 17\" CRT
    Sony STR-DE425 & Eltax c205s;
    xBox w/20GB HDD- executer 2.3b;
    xBox - standard;
    Konica/Minolta dimage z10 w/2x512mb SD;
    iRiver h340;
    A silly amount of Cat-5 and usb cables

Similar Threads

  1. Capturing dvr/vcr
    By Chapman Photography in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-22-2006, 12:07 AM
  2. Capturing from VCR
    By San_Miguel in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-03-2006, 08:03 PM
  3. DV Capturing?
    By Ovie in forum Technology advice and tips
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-27-2005, 03:35 PM
  4. Capturing
    By Ian in Northampton in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-12-2004, 02:03 PM
  5. CAPTURING TO HDD
    By BROWNERS in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-05-2004, 03:27 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •