Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Copying vhs tapes to hdd

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Hertfordshire
    Posts
    17

    Default Copying vhs tapes to hdd

    I have been looking into buying a capture card so i can plug in my aging video recorder and copy some of my old videos to dvd. I have several tapes of family outings and thought it would be nice to re-edit them properly with a menu onto dvd.
    Please help
    Thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,514
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    It entirely depends on your budget.

    1) Use a TV capture card (cheap, cheerful)
    2) Use a VIVO graphics card (you may already have one)
    3) Get a analogue to digital convertor.
    4) Get a standalone DVD recorder (probably the "cheapest" option)

    So, what's your budget?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Hertfordshire
    Posts
    17

    Default

    I was looking at the tv capture card as i would like to use it for recording the odd tv program. I have seen cards that give you freeview which would be a bonus. Do all tv cards enable you to plug in items such as a video recorded?
    What are the best makes hardware and software for tv cards?
    Thanks in advance

    P.S. my budget is around the 100 mark
    P.P.S what is a VIVO graphics card?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Glasgow
    Posts
    766

    Default

    vivo is video in/video out built into your normal (usually AGP) graphics card. Quality is variable on these, but some are very good.

    Not all Freeview cards let you plug in anything but an aerial feed for the digital tv. Mine (twinhan/visionplus mini-ter) is an excellent freeview card, but that's all it does. As it happens, this box has that freeview card, firewire, an analogue tv tuner with composite and svideo, AND my video card has composite/svideo vivo, so i'm not short of ways to get video into this pc.

    For 100 you'll be able to get a freeview card that will have composite/svideo in. That's your best bet if you're interested in both. I can't comment on the quality, mind you. It MIGHT be worth your while to buy a decent freeview card as well as another card that will facilitate analogue capture, separately, just in case you want to capture both analogue and digital simultaneously. I don't know if you CAN use both tuners on one of these cards at the same time.
    AMD Athlon 1700 (@2200mhz from 1466 sod the noise!) - 768mb pc3200 - 200GB Maxtor - Pioneer 106 - GF4 Ti4200 - twinhan/visionplus pci dvb-t - random pci analogue tv tuner - A7v600-x (to replace the a7n8x-d that died...) - random 17\" CRT
    Sony STR-DE425 & Eltax c205s;
    xBox w/20GB HDD- executer 2.3b;
    xBox - standard;
    Konica/Minolta dimage z10 w/2x512mb SD;
    iRiver h340;
    A silly amount of Cat-5 and usb cables

Similar Threads

  1. Copying DVD to DVD
    By logantoo in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-29-2006, 01:42 AM
  2. Copying DVD Help!
    By Fyrish in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-01-2006, 09:27 PM
  3. Analogue copying
    By kenstow in forum Technology advice and tips
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-26-2005, 11:38 AM
  4. Copying from DVR satellite box to PC
    By Tony in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-22-2005, 06:28 PM
  5. Copying vhs to dvd or cd
    By Coinach in forum Blu Ray, DVD, SVCD and VCD authoring
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-10-2005, 12:54 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •