Thread: Bluring Number Plates Problem

Default Bluring Number Plates Problem

Hello,I'm kind of new to video editing but I'm teaching my self as i go on but recently I've come across a problem that i cant seem to fix my self so i was hoping someone on here might be able to help me out. The problem i have is I've got a video of a car on a dyno and doing fly-by's and i want to blur out the number plate which i have managed to do no problem but at the very start of the clip after its faded out and into the next clip the number plate is still clearly seen and i can't seem to blur it out although the blur is set to start from the beginning of the clip and the same also happens towards the end of the clip which is really annoying! Is there anyway i can fix this? If there is please help me I'm using Sony Vegas Pro 11.

Perhaps try opening that one video file in a completely separate project. Apply the blur effect but DO NOT apply the fade. Then render that project out as the same file type as your oringal footage. I would then import that rendered file into your oringal project that you are working on. Now replace your old non-blurred footage with your new pre-blurred footage. This means that any effects added to the video clip will not effect your blur (as it is basically hard coded into the video file). Make sense? If not shout at me

John Barker

Surrey, UK
    Blog Entries

You've missed out some rather crucial information - how have you blurred the number plate?
    I'll assume you have duplicated the track and used either a cookie cutter or a mask on the upper track to allow through only the number plate and then you have applied a blur FX of some kind.

John's approach above works, but requires an intermediate render.

You could achieve the same using nested projects (ie create a project that includes the blurred footage without the fades), but I'd do it one of these ways which work on the main project's timeline.