Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Capture Card & 2nd HD

  1. #1

    Default Capture Card & 2nd HD

    Considering I just upgraded camera's and Cancorder, I was reading on forums here its important to upgrade to 2nd HD (Raid) to help access speed. So I'm going with 200gig Sata. Camera is the Canon XT Rebel(used on HD 1 not video HD), 3CCD camcorder so more space is needed for storage.

    The capture card I'm using is a generic brand, how much difference in video quality is there with a better 1394 caputure card : The one I have now is generic OHCI compliant Via chipset card I bought last year. Will be used with Adobe Elements 1 editing software.
    Life from an Inverted Prespective

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,514
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default Re: Capture Card & 2nd HD

    Quote Originally Posted by Dan442
    The capture card I'm using is a generic brand, how much difference in video quality is there with a better 1394 caputure card :
    None whatsoever.

  3. #3

    Default

    When you're transferring digitally via firewire, it's all just 1's and 0's. Footage of a sunset is just a bunch of 1's and 0's...footage of a football game is just a bunch of 1's and 0's...you get the point.

    Being that your video, when digitized via firewire, is just a bunch of 1's and 0's, there's really no way that the quality could differ from firewire port to firewire port. It's all just 1's and 0's, and unless a few of these 1's and 0's get dropped out, the quality's gonna be the same no matter what firewire card you use.
    AMD Sempron 2600+ (Socket 754; 1.6GHz)
    Chaintech VNF3-250
    768MB Crucial PC2100 (I know, I really need PC3200 :()
    ATI Radeon 9200

Similar Threads

  1. capture card
    By yakinc in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 06-08-2006, 11:19 AM
  2. Premier Pro Capture with ATI Rage Theater Video Capture card
    By Nolubez in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-15-2006, 07:37 PM
  3. video capture card or AGP vid card
    By Dazedandconfused in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-21-2005, 11:27 AM
  4. Capture Card Vs AGP card
    By jjchad in forum The Perfect Video Editing PC
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-27-2005, 04:08 PM
  5. How do i capture my pc-screen using a video-capture-card?
    By hagbard in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-04-2003, 11:12 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •