Thread: Sound editing for Voiceovers - Hardware or Software?

1. Default Sound editing for Voiceovers - Hardware or Software?

Unfortunatly as everything I do, and have done, is all self taught, mainly through trial and error, I have not got a great knowledge of the 'proper' way of doing things, and one area that's letting me down at the moment is the sound levels on the productions. Basically there would be a background video, various shots, various volumes to a degree, and then afterwards a Voiceover is put over the top. Obviously then, the volume of the video is lowered at the points where the VO is. unfortunately, at the moment, when its output, its never perfect, sometimes the background volume is too high, sometimes too low. Now at the moment I am just using the speaker output on the PC, with 2 speakers, simple, but is there either a) a better set up to use for the sound so I can hear it better, ie better sound card? better sound system etc, or is there a program that allows for better visual sound editing? It all makes sense in my head, sure its not when I write it down! thanks in advance

Surrey, UK
    Blog Entries

That's a big question, Wayne, and one which I'm not at all qualified to answer. But I've never let that stop me before so here's my 2p worth.

Firstly - a couple of observations:
    1. It never ceases to amaze me how different the same soundtrack will sound, not only through different speakers, but also through the same speakers in different environments (and at different levels) so every mix is going to be a compromiise. This is why a reciord producer (if there is such athing nowadays) will play back through not only top quality studio monitors, but also more ordinary steroe speakers, a set of cheapies and headphones. However there are clearly some approaches that work better than others because a commercial DVD played back on my TV, a decent set of speakers, headphones or a PC, will sound more cosnistent than one of my own productions.#