Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Software to edit DVD made by standalone DVD Recorder

Default Software to edit DVD made by standalone DVD Recorder

Hello

I am new at video editing so please excuse any basic questions.

Setup:

PIII [1000]
    512 RAM
    Windows XP Pro

HD's defragged prior to capture/edit. Also I shut down unnecessary applications like anti-virus, anti-spyware etc

Objective:

To transfer many VHS tapes [and some Hi-8 ones as well] to DVD after some judicious editing, re-arranging etc.

What I've Tried:

I started off with a Leadtek Winfast TV 2000 XP. That was disastrous at capturing video. I installed it also on my son's Athlon 2600 and gave it a try but it was little better. Capture quality was about 30% of original.

My brother recently bought a standalone DVD Recorder [Pioneer with no HD] and offered to burn my tapes to disk for me. Excellent quality playback on DVD but now I have difficulty editing them.

Programmes Tried:

Ulead MovieMaker 3 SE
    Ulead VideoStudio 8 SE [with AC-3 plugin]

UMM3 didn't get past 1st base. It announced that the source VideoTS files had Dolby Digital and UMM3 doesn't support it. A look at the Ulead site suggests I can't get a plugin to assist.

UVS8 performed better. I played around, cut out some bits added some transitions etc and burned a DVD. Played it back. Video is excellent but audio synch starts out OK but drops off dramatically so that after 10 minutes or so it is seconds out. I don't see any audio synch support in the programme options. A look at the Ulead forums suggests I'm not the only one to have struck such problems. Their suggestion is to, essentially fork out and buy UVS9 because it is "much better". Hmmm. If Ulead haven't fixed it by version 8 I am naturally sceptical.
    .................................................. ..................................................