Thread: analogue to digital

Default analogue to digital

sorry if this is not allowed on your forum but I am very new to this
    I have just bought a canon 830i digital camcorder and also own an analogue samsung camcorder, the canons instructions say I can connect the two camcorders together and transfer all my HI 8 tapes to mini DV tapes, and it says I can also connect the two together and transfer my old tapes to my PC using my new canon as a digital conversion tool. the trouble is the instruction manual is unclear and I do not know what cables to use or how to set the cams up ( my old samsung only has an AV socket)

jessops sold me two double male inline connectors and told me to connect my old and new cams together using the AV sockets ie yellow to yellow and red to red, this did not work.

So can anyone please help me with this.
    Thanks in advance Steve.

I don't have a Canon 830i, but I suspect that the method of recording will be the same as other Canon camcorders.

First of all you will need the appropriate cables. The first thing to note is that the 830i uses a mini jack AV connector. I suspect (but don't know for sure) that the Samsung uses standard AV connectors (Yellow, White & red). In this this case you will need a standard AV to AV-mini jack cable.

Connect the standard AV cable (red, White & yellow) to the coressponding connectors on your Samsung. Connect the mini jack to the Canon.

Set the Canon to PLAY mode and press Record Pause.

Press Play on the Samsung.

Press Play on the Canon

Enjoy

PS If the Samsung is a mono camera then it will only have a Red or White Cable in addition to the Ye;;ow one.
    COMPAQ something or other with 500Gb Boot Disk, 1Tb external Firewire Disk, 4Gb Memory and a super duper sound card, 19" TFT Monitor etc etc etc
    Sony TRV33e : Sony TRV310e : Canon XM2
    Sony Vegas Studio editions to v11

Remember, there is always more to learn than there is to teach.