Thread: Multiple movies on one DVD

Default Multiple movies on one DVD

I am a newbie to this site, and a relative newbie to video making. I use Studio 8 on an Advent PC running Windows XP with SP2. I have an 80GB drive and 512MB RAM.

I mostly make short videos - 15 mins or so - of the home movie type, grandchildren and the like. I used to transfer these back to my camcorder (Sony IP7) and then onto VHS tape - adding them to each other. I have recently bought a DVD writer and I have been trying to put more than one of these movies onto a DVD (it seems a waste to use a new DVD each time) but with no success. I have tried DVD+R, DVD+RW and DVD-RAM. I have been told that it is not possible - but my experience is that when someone says this sort of thing, there is usually someone else who knows of a work-round!

Can anyone give me some advice - or even confirm what I have been told! Thanks

I put more than one 'movie' on my DVDs all the time. The DVD stabndard certainly allows it otherwise how do you think you can select different options to play different clips/movies on teh DVD you buy.

If you are having trouble then it is clearly a deficiency in the s/w you are using to master your DVDs.

I'm not familiar with the s.w you quote. Is it a non-linear editor or is it DVD authoring. I suspect it is where you edit your videos and has some sort of 'export to DVD' option which you are using.

I use Adobe Encore. this s/w allows me to create many different timelines. When I create a DVD menu I can link each timeline to play from a different button press. It's that easy. I'm not saying this to endorse Encore (although it would gladly do so) but simply to indicate the easy workflow to achieve what you desire.

So then, how are you creating your DVDs. Maybe it;s time to spend a little more money on soem DVD authoring s.w if you are using a 'build DVD' option from your NLE.

davidp, I am pretty familiar with Pinnacle Studio.