Thread: Newb Sound+multiple video question....

Default Newb Sound+multiple video question....

First: Let me say I am a newb to editing and camera work. In fact I have a guy that will be doing 99% of the work and I will be taking his advise into consideration. However he has limited experience and will have a learning curve along with me in our endeavors.Second: Our goal is to record high quality(mostly indoors with studio lighting) video.
    However we have a extremely tight budget.
    We plan on recording with 2 HD camcorders. Because of our budget we had a thought to buy a couple camcorders in the 500-600 USD range and also buy a separate sound recorder with a decent mic and rig it like a boom microphone. Then use the old slating techniques to sync the sound to the two video recordings. Or use PluralEyes to sync sound. The only issue I have with this is I was planning on installing Ubuntu along with some Linux video editing software to lower costs. But I can just sync sound then move the file over to the Linux computer.
    My questions are multiple fold.
    First is this viable for a quality, online, production? Sound wise and video wise.
    What kind of format for sound should we be looking to record in if we have AVCHD format or AVI camcorders.

Does anybody have an setup/equipment recommendations including mics/camcorders/studio gear that you can offer for this kind of set up?

I would like to thank you in advance. And apologize for such a long post
    THANK YOU!