Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Why is .WMV bitrate so high?

  1. Default Why is .WMV bitrate so high?

    CDs have a bitrate of 128kb/s right? So why is it that videos (usually .wmv files) have such a high bitrate? I cant even tell the difference between 128kb/s and 1000kb/s. Even when I tell it to do 44hz, 128kb/s as .wmv it forces the audio bitrate to match the video data rate.
    I was under the impression that going beyond 312kb/s as far as audio bitrate was just unecessary.

    Also, im wondering what happens if you take a 640x480 at 500kb/s file and jack it up to 720x480 at 1500kb/s? Now what would happen if I took that 720x480 1500 and brought it back down to 640x480 500 again? Would it look worse then the first 640x480 500?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,514
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    CDs have a bitrate of 128kb/s right?
    I don't believe this to be true. CDs have uncompressed audio, so the "data" rate is quite high (1,411kbps).

    Even when I tell it to do 44hz, 128kb/s as .wmv it forces the audio bitrate to match the video data rate.
    You should not have to match the audio bitrate to match. Yes, an audio bitrate above 128kbps for the web is on the high side.

    Also, im wondering what happens if you take a 640x480 at 500kb/s file and jack it up to 720x480 at 1500kb/s
    The file size will go up. The quality at the native resolution will go down.

    Now what would happen if I took that 720x480 1500 and brought it back down to 640x480 500 again? Would it look worse then the first 640x480 500?
    Yes, because you would have re-encoded twice.

  3. Default

    how come when you save songs from a cd onto your computer it's 128kbps?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,514
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    Because that's probably the mp3 bitrate you've chosen.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Glasgow
    Posts
    766

    Default Re: Why is .WMV bitrate so high?

    Quote Originally Posted by GrandMasterKaja
    CDs have a bitrate of 128kb/s right?
    nope. CDs have a bitrate of 1411.2kbps. Ish.

    So why is it that videos (usually .wmv files) have such a high bitrate? I cant even tell the difference between 128kb/s and 1000kb/s. Even when I tell it to do 44hz, 128kb/s as .wmv it forces the audio bitrate to match the video data rate.
    I was under the impression that going beyond 312kb/s as far as audio bitrate was just unecessary.
    depends on the codec. If it makes the audio bitrate match the video one, you're using the encoding app wrong wrong. most people can't tell the difference between CD and 192kbps mp3 on your average audio setup. Raise/lower that for whatever coded you like.

    Also, im wondering what happens if you take a 640x480 at 500kb/s file and jack it up to 720x480 at 1500kb/s? Now what would happen if I took that 720x480 1500 and brought it back down to 640x480 500 again? Would it look worse then the first 640x480 500?
    with every encoding step, you lose quality. you can't make shit into silver.

    raising the bitrate and resolution will not make a difference. Indeed, resizing the resolution will lower the quality.

    resizing back down to 640*480 would lower the quality yet again, probably making it considerably worse than the original unresized file.

    really though, go and experiment. you can't break anything.

    ask yourself why you're using wmv and not avi/xvid/mp3 though.
    AMD Athlon 1700 (@2200mhz from 1466 sod the noise!) - 768mb pc3200 - 200GB Maxtor - Pioneer 106 - GF4 Ti4200 - twinhan/visionplus pci dvb-t - random pci analogue tv tuner - A7v600-x (to replace the a7n8x-d that died...) - random 17\" CRT
    Sony STR-DE425 & Eltax c205s;
    xBox w/20GB HDD- executer 2.3b;
    xBox - standard;
    Konica/Minolta dimage z10 w/2x512mb SD;
    iRiver h340;
    A silly amount of Cat-5 and usb cables

  6. Default

    "ask yourself why you're using wmv and not avi/xvid/mp3 though."

    I would but I cant figure out how to use .avi or xvid codecs. I cant make anything but a green bar going through a 4 second video playing at 100 times normal speed with Xvid and .avi I havent been able to figure out how to make decent looking 320x240. I can make decent looking 640x480 and up (would probably take a few tries). The problem there is the videos im editing are only a couple minutes long and they turn out to be in the 100MB+ region before they start looking good and I've seen others 30-40MB large that are just as good.

    I have a problem though, premiere nor vegas dont read my already divx/mpeg-4 encoded files, it wont import it. I cant record anything except compressed 720x480 divx at a very low data rate so my original files look bad enough. So they look bad and I dont know why, maybe it's the program im using limiting my captures to such low quality. But now I gotta pour salt on it and go into windows movie maker (which is the only program that reads the files) and change them to .wmvs at 720x480 and a 2.1Mbps bitrate. Then I can edit them in premiere and THEN I have to figure out how to make a 320x240 bareable to watch.

    Isnt there someway or some program I can use to capture video that looks as good as it does on normal TV?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Glasgow
    Posts
    766

    Default

    well if it's analogue capping you want to be capping to full-d1, with the panasonic DV codec, or huffyuv.

    I use IUvcr to cap.

    edit your film, export to dv or whatever, then run it through virtualdub to compress to xvid.

    if you want full-d1, then you'll be wanting ~1200kbps for the video. remember to deinterlace, crop any black borders, etc.

    if you need to drop the bitrate, then you'll have to drop the resolution obviously. do a bicubic resize.

    as always with xvid, do a 2-pass encode.
    AMD Athlon 1700 (@2200mhz from 1466 sod the noise!) - 768mb pc3200 - 200GB Maxtor - Pioneer 106 - GF4 Ti4200 - twinhan/visionplus pci dvb-t - random pci analogue tv tuner - A7v600-x (to replace the a7n8x-d that died...) - random 17\" CRT
    Sony STR-DE425 & Eltax c205s;
    xBox w/20GB HDD- executer 2.3b;
    xBox - standard;
    Konica/Minolta dimage z10 w/2x512mb SD;
    iRiver h340;
    A silly amount of Cat-5 and usb cables

Similar Threads

  1. Can you set MPEG Video BitRate to under 3Mb/s ?
    By el_rika in forum Pinnacle Studio, Edition including Avid Xpress and Liquid
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-22-2006, 07:05 PM
  2. Unsupported bitrate
    By Similac in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-24-2005, 06:31 PM
  3. bitrate exceeding the norm
    By aljaxon in forum Blu Ray, DVD, SVCD and VCD authoring
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-25-2005, 11:11 AM
  4. Bitrate Error in Encore
    By Chris in forum Blu Ray, DVD, SVCD and VCD authoring
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-15-2004, 07:58 AM
  5. Problem with using high bitrate
    By MHung in forum Blu Ray, DVD, SVCD and VCD authoring
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-04-2004, 12:14 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •