Thread: Making sound effects blend naturally into a scenes audio track.

1. Default Making sound effects blend naturally into a scenes audio track.

Hi all I have a question about sound effects added in post production.

In a lot of films I have seen that have a lot of sound added after (punches, kicks, footsteps etc.) they seem to blend seamlessly into the scene as if they were actually made there and I'm wondering about some of the techniques that could be used to achieve this.

I'm fairly new to the filmmaking experience although I am a music studio engineer by trade, but I realise (especially now) that it gives me little advantage in this field.

Is it more to do with having a good room tone recorded on location to pad everything out or could the room tone be used to make a convolution reverb setting that the fx could be passed through to give them that natural environment feel? I've tried standard reverbs on fx over some some test footage and it helps but it still very much has the 'pasted on top' feel.

Thanks any info will help!

Having the room sound helps, Also the timing and volume balance have some importance. The amount of reverb needed would be tiny to adjust from a 20" room to a 30" foot room. The best way to do Foley if you haven't got a Hollywood studio is to record the silent room then record the punch, footstep, bang etc. in the same room as the original footage was shot in or as close as you can. This is especially true for out door sounds. Record them out side.

Take a look at THIS, all the sounds where recorded after the shoot and put on in post production because I was filming from outside the window. Even I can do it so it sounds real, if I've got the right sounds to begin with.

The final tip is get things to sound as good as you can then hide it all in the background music.

Hope this helps.

3. Default