Thread: How are my specs for HD editing in Vegas/Premiere?

Default How are my specs for HD editing in Vegas/Premiere?

Hi all. I know you probably get many of these sort of posts, but here's hoping you guys can help me.

I have used editing software quite a bit in university studios etc but when it comes to home editing I am not entirely sure my PC can handle it as I have very little knowledge about PC hardware.

I have recently bought a DSLR Sony Alpha 57 (AVCHD), arriving in a few days, and was wondering if my PC is up to the task of rendering 1080p/24-60fps video. I will also be using some effects and filters etc. I suspect that my graphics card may be way too old but not sure about my processor. If both are too old I guess I have no choice but to fork out more money on a new PC/Laptop.

My specs are:

Intel Core 2 Quad Q8400 - 2.66GHz
    8GB DDR3 RAM (in 4 2000MB pieces)
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Intel X38 Motherboard
    Radeon HD 4850 which only has a memory of 512.

If it's just a case of needing a better graphics card, which would you recommend? e.g. I know that Nvidia cards are supposed to be better at handling programs like Premiere and Vegas.

Would Nvidia work on my motherboard? Or is that only a problem if the motherboard is AMD?

I know a lot of you must be fed up with these questions, and the fact that this is my first post. If i can manage to really get back into editing however, I am sure I will be sticking around here for a long time.

Thank you.

What editing software do you have/intend to use?

Since it will all happen anyway, why not suck it and see? Sony Vegas for example, has many output quality variations for previewing etc, chances are your PC may be adequate.

Welcome to the forum, I look forward to seeing your stuff.

Quote Originally Posted by Stripe View Post
    What editing software do you have/intend to use?