Thread: Helping the Blind (beginner questions)

Question Helping the Blind (beginner questions)

Hi, I am very new at this, and have two big questions. I really do feel as lost as a blind person in a room of unfamiliar objects. I am not lazy, and can group around learning what's what as I go, but it is always a faster path to learning when someone can point you in the right direction.

That brings me to question #1: What reading material would anyone suggest for the beginner in video production? (I have only the most basic understanding of, lighting, rules of camera position, and basic pre /post production.)

I became interested in this forum, and gaining better video production skills, after shooting a few indoor videos with a web cam. I know a web cam is about as much like a real camera as a wiffle ball bat is like a hand turned piece of major league ash, but for making indoor videos of a monolog, I have found a web cam to work pretty well when I have the lighting right. Though not high quality, I have found the sound to be a bigger challenge than the video.

I have just tried to shoot a few outdoor shots, relying on a still digital camera with motion capabilities.

Question #2: What should I look for in a used camera of some quality, and what do I need to figure on spending. (I am on disability so my budget is very limited.) (Also a friend has told me that a high quality non-digital camcorder could be used, and the media be converted to digital? Is that a short term answer? Can the media be converted with out too much loss of quality? Or could the camcorder video be feed directly into a digital converter/possessor and saved to a HD?)

Thanks for any advice you can offer.

London, England