Thread: Panasonic SV AV100 D-snap

Default Panasonic SV AV100 D-snap

Hi All, I've just brought a SV AV100. This little device uses an SD memory card to store the video you shoot in MPEG2 & MPEG4. As I am new to the digital video game and the SV AV100 is also a new device I took a chance, it looked good on paper, it looked good in the flesh, it's solid state(no moving parts) so it should be reliable and with no tape or motors the battery should last well. Even though there were no reviews of this just the normal promotional stuff, I took a chance and I think that I may of inadvetantly jumped in at the deep end. I brought the camera from the USA for £420 which saved me a massive £580 on the UK list price, although the output is American format (704 X 480 Pixels 0.9). The camera comes with a 512Mb high speed SD card but this will only capture 10mins of footage in Fine MPEG2 mode and at £300 plus for another card I opted to buy a Vorsonic X-drive Pro for £250 this is a 30Gig portable hard drive which you can down load to from its own 6 in card reader. It takes about 10mins to download a full 512Mb sd card. I did try the Panasonic PT SV1 which is only 5Gig, it is smaller but each time you use it you have to insert the hard drive which is kept in a seperate holder and place in on a level surface. If it is moved or picked up it aborts the transfer. the only benifit this device has is it can upload a file to an SD card with out the need for a PC (the only benifit of this is being able to upload last nights soaps in MPEG4 to watch on the train), But at an extra £150 I wouldn't recomend this over the Vorsonic which can hold 6X the data and can store data from most flash memory cards ie your digital cameras it is also a MP3 player. Now the camera. well it is tiny, fairly well layed out, although you do need to make sure that you don't cover up the sensor on the side and front with your hand and the control buttons under the screen are at a 45 degree angle, which takes some ge