Thread: Codecs, WMM, AVI and h264

Default Codecs, WMM, AVI and h264

Hello,

I have a few questions, but first off: I'm terribly sorry If I'm asking something that's been asked before and has a really obvious answer. I'm new to this and I'm oblivious to the solution to my problem(s). I've tried searching for the solution, but only got some loose ends that didn't really solve anything.
    Now that that's out of the way..

I'm quite new video editing. I've done some very basic editing in WMM and I'm slighty familiar with converting (I use Freemake Video Converter which makes things very easy).

For an assignment for my school I have to use some video's I made in a presentation. I've done this, and some basic editing, in the past, but now I encounter problems..

I have shot these video's with my Samsung Galaxy S2 in a 720 x 480 size. The video format automatically gets saved in MP4.
    I don't think I'm going to need to do much editing so I wanted to use a simple program like WMM 2.6.
    Since WMM is not compatible with mp4 (right?) I converted the video's to AVI using Freemake. They all play without any problems using software like GOM Player and VLC.
    When I try to load the video's into WMM, however, it gives me the "[file] could not be imported" error.
    I've tried to use similar software like WAX and StereoMovie Maker, but I get basically the same message.

StereoMovie Maker adds the message that "the FOURCC code is h264" and it "cannot take a Frame Image Handle".
    SMM links to a list where codecs can be downloaded, including a codec for the h264 FOURCC code. When I download and try to install this, however, it doesn't solve anything.

After a few hours of searching I'm lost in a sea of terms and codes I do not understand.
    Therefore, I ask if there is anyone who recognises this problem or can help me otherwise.

Thank you,
    Tommy Visch

According to this Microsoft web page you can use mp4 files in WMM.

Oh, I was mistaken then.