Thread: Cable recommendations for newbie

Default Cable recommendations for newbie

Hi,

I'm new to all this but have been doing quite a bit of research before I take the plunge.

I am about to buy a canopus ADVC110 A-D convertor to allow me to get my VHS recording into my PC in digital format

As Im splashing out on an ADVC110 I want to keep the analogue signal going into the convertor as clean as possible.

I plan to use a switchable scart adaptor to plug into my VCR. From there I'll run S-video and 2xphono(audioL&R) to the advc110

QUESTIONs:
    1. Can anyone recommend quality cables for the s-video and 2Xphono (AUDIO) cables to minimise signal loss?

2. Do I also need to keep the cables as short as possible or will the loss be negligable even if I go up to say 3 metres?

any help is greatly appreciated

Cheers

pete

Keep the cables as short as possible and if you can, go for cables coated with 14K gold on the ends.

thanks for that. any brands you can recommend that have the 14k gold ends?

I cant seem to find any web reviews of cables at all - been hunting all over. any websites you know that review such things?

the brands ive been looking at are:-

QED
    Profigold
    IXOS
    THOR
    belkin pure AV (not the silver version)

thanks

pete

Well Belkins are surely OK, and there's also a German manufacturer, VIVANCO, much cheaper.

Blog Entries

Quote Originally Posted by svhs
    Keep the cables as short as possible and if you can, go for cables coated with 14K gold on the ends.
    I was intrigued to know why you'd keep the cables short, so googled the answer: