Thread: Chroma green Screen?

Default Chroma green Screen?

Hello everyone,

I am kind of new to video editing, I have some limited experience with Premier and I want to try my hand at some work with green screens. I had a go with the chroma keying in Premier in bad light and the wrong shade of blue and got much better results that I was expecting. I have been told green screens are better than blue.

Basically I need some advice in making a green screen myself and sorting some form of lighting that doesnít cost me a lot of money. I am on a very low budget and donít want to spend major money on professional photography lighting gear. If anyone here has some experience and would be kind enough to share knowledge I would be grateful.

Thanks

-Pappy

Hi Pappy,

I'm no expert in this field either, I have spent the last few months experimenting with different shades of blue and green and lights and lighting positions. All with the same thoughts as you, price is a massive issue.

I started off with a rig made from dowel rod, 8 little 50 watt halogen spot lamps and greese proof paper as a diffuser, the word nightmare summed that up. On a hunch I went and bought a 150 watt security flood light from B&Q for £4.50 yestarday (they sell them at that price without the sensor that gets more cats than burglers). This sits on the floor (The diffused spots are either side and above), it shines up evening out the hot spots that still remained from the spots.

I'm going to dump the spots now and stick one of these floods either side in place of them. The area I am lighting is a sheet of 2.4 meter by 2 meter bed sheet material I got from Remnant Kings for about £6. If you want to light a bigger area B&Q do the same light as 500 watt for 50p more.