Thread: Final Cut Express version for Power PC mac, and more...

Default Final Cut Express version for Power PC mac, and more...

Hi

I was thinking about doing a little video editing (nothing too grand but I like a few timelines to see what's what), and just looking at my options.

Soooo, I have a G5 PowerMac 10.5.6 dual 2 ghz with 2GB ram. Quite a nice machine in its day.

I have iMovie and might use that (but I'm not very experienced with it and I find it a bit 'odd'), but I'm also wondering about buying Final Cut Express - probably secondhand as I see that it has been discontinued. Wondering if anyone can advise what version I'd need to run on my PowerPC - I gather 3.5 is a universal binary, but 4.0 isn't. Could anyone confirm this please as I'm having trouble checking it. And would my Mac run it reasonably?

And you think that's old: my other option (don't laugh) is to fire up my old G4 machine, and run my old Cinestream software (which came after Edit DV, which I rather liked but which got discontinued) under the old OS 9.1. Always worked OK when I used it in the past, although not sure that Mac will cope with my 16:9 monitors.... On balance probably not ideal!

Finally, I also have a bottom of the range, off the shelf, MacBook Pro bought last year (not with vid in mind): I'm assuming that wouldn't have enough oooomph to feasibly run Final Cut Pro X or whatever the current Apple product is called now? Can't remember the specs off hand.

Cheers

PS why does it say "Windows Movie Maker" under my name above?

I edited on someone else's G5 with Final Cut express 7 before I think, can't say for certain it was 7 and not 6.

As for your macbook pro question
    Just to prove it could, I saw a guy during a 80 person tech demo whip out a 4+ year old "office" macbook pro and cut together some footage on FCP-X. With the ability to create optimised media AND proxy files FCP-X can happily run on your macbook pro.