Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Brand new in the indusrty

Default Brand new in the indusrty

Hi.

This is my first post, so I would like to say hi to everybody!

I've just started my new business venture in the wedding industry and I did my first highlights video last week. As I am not experienced at all within wedding stuff I would like you to show you my first work, to get some advice and feedback.
    The idea was to use minimum equipment and just me plus a sound/assistant person.
    Please let me know what you think.

I'm no expert at this, plenty on this forum are, and I'm sure they will let you know

For me I loved it, the highlights idea is great, location superb, that white border thing works, and I found it overall very touching, some great footage - ring drop etc.

I'd have liked fades for the initial panning, seemed a little jerky for an intro, and a couple of times you got the back of guests arriving rather than front, (some girls hate this for some reason )

I'll be interested to hear others comments, because this was great for me, or maybe I want to marry that girl - one of the two.

I agree with Stripe that some of the glide track shots could have been smoother. I also spotted micro movement on some of the static shots as though the camera man was holding onto the tripod when he's not doing a pan. I think you missed a trick at 19 secs shooting at that angle with such a shallow depth of field would have been ideal to do a focus pull across the sign, either that or have the whole thing in focus. I think the shot at 41 sec would have been better if the guys had been framed better before they got closer. The shot at 1:08 would have been nicer if the bride was slightly right of centre frame. I would take out the people shot at 1:15 the guy in the glasses spoils the moment for me with that look on his face when he realises the camera is on him.

Was the old guy doing the service deliberately trying to get in your way ?