Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Newbie at editing movies, need help on Sony Vegas 11.

Default Newbie at editing movies, need help on Sony Vegas 11.

Hello,

I am quite new at editing movies... I got myself Sony Vegas Pro 11, and thought I could learn how to edit my films created with GoPro Hero2 HD. I have clipped it like I want to and I have added music. The only problem I got now is that it is so choppy/ laggy when previewing :( I have seen alot of tutorials on youtube, and I found an setting that was almost ok in prewiev, but when I tried to make an .mp4 file of it, it was horrible... I need some serious help on what video settings I need to upload my editet GoPro shoots to youtube

~Limert.

Set the project properties to match the original footage properties size, frame rate etc. Change the pixel format to 8 bit.
    Reduce the Preview quality so it will run smoother
    BEFORE rendering change the pixel format to 32 Bit floating point (video levels) in the project properties, then render out the footage to the same setting you have in the project properties.

This is about all you can do.

Hi Limert, guess that we may be talking about a few different things at the same time. Sorry if Im raining over wet ground, but Ill start with the basics to make sure we get to a common ground, ok?

1) Resolution: there are 3 moments when you choose the "resolution" you want on the final film:

a) while filming - Your GoPro gives you a few options (HD or SD) If you want the best image (at a cost of disk space and frame rate), choose 1080 HD with 16:9 ratio (its R5 on my GoPro 1)

b) while rendering - after importing your clips (files) to the editor (make sure you import them with the same quality) and doing your editing, you will have to render/export it in a file format that you can upload to YT (.mp4 is OK). Just make sure that you export the video in a HD quality too. Better image = bigger files!