Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: h264 to premiere workflow

  1. #1

    Default h264 to premiere workflow

    I take some hd (h264) clips with my still camera, but they don't play back real smooth and Premiere won't import them for editing. I'm looking to encode about a hundred clips at a pretty high quality for editing and import them into premiere for a stitch. What is a good conversion software and settings? I'd like to get the file size to about 75% and editable in Premiere in a fairly quick conversion.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    7

    Default

    If you don't have Adobe Media Encoder, another good, user friendly and free software is "MPEG Streamclip". It's available for Mac and PC (Link below).

    Squared 5 - MPEG Streamclip video converter for Mac and Windows

    The conversion time is pretty quick and you can select the formats you want from the drop down bar at the top. Whether your shooting in 720 or 1080, a good format to work with is Apple Pro Res. This format works for both Mac and PC. I usually convert to high quality pro res, but proxys are good for saving space and the difference is minimal.

    I take some hd (h264) clips with my still camera, but they don't play back real smooth and Premiere won't import them for editing
    It seems odd that the clips won't play back correctly outside of Premiere too. Premiere should work with H.264 footage generally speaking. However, I know this can happen when files have been moved from their source folders on some of the Canon Cameras.

    I hope this helps

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Bravo, what excellent message

  4. #4

    Default

    Thanks for the tips! I tried to import the h264 clips into Premiere again and it worked. For some reason when I was doing it before only the audio track would come up. I'll try out that Apple Pro Res if I need to. Too many codec formats out there and I never know what I'll get. One time I converted a 30s clip and it ended up at around 1gig!

  5. #5

    Default

    You want to get MPEGStreamclip and convert to DNxHD container.
    (Open MPEGstreamclip->batch list).
    Then put them into premiere and when you render choose h.264 .mp4 again.

    EDIT:// it's gonna increase the file size but it's totaly worth it. you get so much smother replays especially when your projects get bigger (like short movies/ long music videos).

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-06-2012, 03:14 PM
  2. Simple Offline Workflow For Premiere Pro CS4
    By smifis in forum Submit Your Own Guides and Reviews
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-21-2010, 06:39 PM
  3. Problems transferring photoshop workflow in Premiere
    By Jochem180 in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-09-2009, 09:49 AM
  4. Premiere CS3 and H264
    By Bebo in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-10-2008, 06:22 PM
  5. Workflow in Premiere Pro and After Effects?
    By guitarfaces in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-16-2007, 10:04 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •