Thread: Shooting low light with deep DOF? (Concerts, etc.)

Default Shooting low light with deep DOF? (Concerts, etc.)

hey guys. I'm kinda new to DSLR filming really, but since I plan on shooting lots of concert footage and in general low light videos, I have a small question. Is there any way to achieve nice low light with deep Depth-of-Field? Of course, to have deep DOF it is necessary to increase the F-Stop, but that will take most of the light present in the shot and relatively ruin it. Increasing ISO obviously helps, but I wonder, what is the best way to work on this? Especially for concerts, where it is not easy at all, especially if you're not on stage with the band but in the crowd, to keep moving the focus ring. What do you suggest? Should I just see what I'm working with every time and decide what is the best option? Just try some stuff out before filming the real thing in every different situation?

Cheers!

Blog Entries

Edit: oops, would help if I read your post better! Yes, you will need to work with the ISO, shutter speed and a wide lens.

--------

Original post

Having worked for years (as very much an amateur filming for fun) with a DSLR for video, and dabbled in event videography many years ago, I wouldn't use one for such live events. It will be a pain to keep things focused for one, and aesthetically I would prefer not to have an extreme shallow DOF for such shooting.

With that caveat in mind, and also bearing in mind I do this for fun, in my experience and using my lenses, having the aperture wide open doesn't materially affect my perceived quality. Of course, people will tell you otherwise, but that's what I see. I also use an external monitor to frame and focus, and magic lantern to make it easier to follow focus. These things make it slighty easier.
    Last edited by Marc Peters; 01-22-2013 at 08:21 AM.

Marc is right with his advice ( the edited version)