Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Laptop cant handle CS6

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2013

    Default Laptop cant handle CS6

    I have recently started video editing and have gotten a placement at an Internship. Unfortunately my 5 year old Dell isn't up to scratch. Sadly its time to let it go. It keeps crashing, it wont start up more often than not, the battery is dead and its just falling apart. The most annoying part is my Premier Pro keeps crashing without warning and cant perform complicated tasks. It took me 30 minutes to render 60 seconds of footage the other day. Its time for me to buy a new laptop however im not sure what laptop to get. I have a budget of 1000. Many of the other people in my Internship are using Macs and i have to admit i prefer final cut pro to CS6 although premier is slowly winning me over. I dont want to waste my money on a mac book pro if there is a better cheaper alternative.

    My current laptop specs are
    4GB Ram
    Celeron (R) Dual-Core CPU
    64 Bit

    If anyone has any suggestion or advice as to what laptop I should get it would be most helpfull.

    Also if i do go down the mac route is the Retina display model worth the extra 500?

  2. #2


    3XS - Configure your Scan Performance 15" Laptop

    I cannot recommend these laptops enough, I own one of these with an I7-2820QM fitted and it just sings...Don't forget a 128GB SSD!

  3. #3


    Another vote for Scan from me
    'No longer are the pleasures of Home Movie Making limited to those with ample funds. Now the man and woman of moderate means can join the sport'..... Kodak catalogue 1933

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2013


    Thanks I will look into it. Price seems a bit steep however. Is it solely for Video editing? or can it be used as an everyday laptop as well? Im after an all purpose laptop until i can afford to build my own editing computer system.

  5. #5


    It's a Windows 7 PC, You can use it for anything you want...

    If your going to invest in a power-house PC later on...
    3XS - Gaming Laptops

    Try one of these out for size.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    London, England


    FWIW, there is some sense in using the same software used by yr peers . . . apart from anything else, they may be able to provide help if/when you need it.

    (However, I'd prefer a Win PC, without any pressure) =Bang/Buck-

  7. #7


    See this page for information about hardware for Premiere Pro and After Effects: Adobe Community: FAQ: What computer and components should I buy for Premiere Pro or After Effects?
    Todd Kopriva, Adobe Systems Incorporated
    After Effects Help and Support
    Premiere Pro Help and Support

Similar Threads

  1. Why cant Vegas handle my files?
    By woxenrud in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-25-2012, 05:39 PM
  2. How to let Sony Vegas handle .flv files ?
    By ryan_khoo in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-20-2011, 03:05 AM
  3. Pinnacle 12 can't handle AVI Type 1, so now what?
    By AZWldctFan in forum Pinnacle Studio, Edition including Avid Xpress and Liquid
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-05-2009, 06:17 AM
  4. First post: Bezier handle adjustment?
    By david1200 in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-01-2007, 07:10 PM
  5. Garbage Matte add new handle
    By sfgrevst in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-07-2006, 07:51 PM

Tags for this Thread


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts