Thread: Downhill Biking Video

Default Downhill Biking Video

Hey Everyone

I'm in my final year at Staffordshire University, I recently completed a module last semester which gave us the task of creating a music video. I wanted to create something different, besides the typical 'band in a warehouse' scenario. I am very interested in action sports filmmaking and so I shot a downhill film, and added a bit of a quirky angle to it.

I'd love to hear what you guys think of it.

Enjoy

Joe

ps. If anyone can tell me how to embed my videos for future reference, that'd be great. Cheers!
    Last edited by Midnight Blue; 01-11-2013 at 10:39 AM.

Click on the insert video button and paste the URL to the video, the forum software will then embed the video. You will see that I've done it for you this time.

I liked the video. I thought you had a good mix of shots and cut them well together. You created a good narrative especially mixing the two different bikers sympathetically to the music.

Well done.

I liked it too, I loved the idea of showing the basket bike/country road in black and white and the downhill in colour. It worked really well. And great use of the film burn, it worked great as the slow-mo kicked in.

What's the music?

David

Thank you for the embedding help, Midnight!

And thanks for the nice comments The music is Fitzpleasure, by Alt+J - great band, won a Mercury Prize in 2012. Check out their album 'An Awesome Wave'

Will do thanks. I've never heard it before.

David.

Blog Entries

Some nifty camerawork and editing in there. Personally I thought the film burns were overdone. Nice once or twioce for the transitions between B&W and colour shots but felt rather like "jumping on the bandwagon" in other places. I've heard of Alt+J so I can't be as much of an old fart as I thought (though this is the first f their music I've actually heard so maybe I am).
    Tim