Thread: How to make video's look professional in Avid Newscutter

Smile How to make video's look professional in Avid Newscutter

Hey first time poster here!

I am studying journalism, so the only editing software I have access too is Newscutter. I have been making some live sessions, as seen here Preston Sessions - YouTube . They look pretty good, but I want to make them look as professional as possible, Does anybody have any ideas on what I can do in Avid Newscutter to improve the quality of my videos?

Thank You very much.

What is it about the quality you think needs improving ?

If you actually mean the image quality, you need to start with the camera. The editing software is going to do very little to improve a badly shot image. The best you can do is a little tweak with the contrast, may be a bit of soft focus to get rid of the grainy look BUT doing that probably won't help. The camera work in your link is ok framing wise but it looks like the camera was set on auto. Learn to use the manual settings this will give you a better image once you learn how to set the exposure and focus correctly.

^^ Using a camera on auto is akin to taking a gorgeous christmas dinner...and cooking it all in the microwave.

Once you learn how to use the manual settings...amazing things start to happen!

Thumbs up

Quote Originally Posted by Midnight Blue View Post
    What is it about the quality you think needs improving ?

If you actually mean the image quality, you need to start with the camera. The editing software is going to do very little to improve a badly shot image. The best you can do is a little tweak with the contrast, may be a bit of soft focus to get rid of the grainy look BUT doing that probably won't help. The camera work in your link is ok framing wise but it looks like the camera was set on auto. Learn to use the manual settings this will give you a better image once you learn how to set the exposure and focus correctly.