Thread: None of the gear... and no blinkin' idea!?

Default None of the gear... and no blinkin' idea!?

Hi everyone

Firstly, apologies for what probably seems a completely stupid question (I have referenced the 'Please read this before posting' sections), but I'm stuck - in a big way!

I've just purchased Magix's Movie Edit Pro 2013 + software to run with a new Samsung HMX-F80 camcorder (only to capture and edit basic family/memorable moment stuff - I'm no aspiring producer/professional), but having transferred the files to my laptop (using a SDHC card), the video stutters and stammers when being viewed.

The spec of my laptop is as follows:

PB Notebook, Intel Celeron 743 @ 1.30 GHZ
    RAM: 3.00 GB
    64 Bit, running Windows 7

... Before I delve further into possible causes of this issue (I don't know where to start, to be honest), is the laptop 'man enough' for the job?

Thanks in advance for guidance/assistance/opinions.

This seems purely do to your hardware not being powerful enough to decode the video for editing. It's not the fault of the software. I wouldn't recommend anything less than a quad core size processor for editing HD footage. A notebook will struggle. The only other option is to reduce the quality of the video. You may be able to create "Proxy files" for the editing but I don't use Magix's software so can't advise further.

São Paulo - Brazil

Yep, seems to be lack of processing power. Video is hard to please!! Even much bigger machines will get into trouble sometimes. Graphic/video cards are a must, and most laptops with similar specifications lack this, using on-board cards. Look for I5/I7 processors, 8 to 16g ram, NVidia cards with at least 1gb memory..... Editing is a great pleasure, but you need better tools for that.

Blog Entries