Thread: Transition show end of clip firstv

Default Transition show end of clip firstv

Hi guys,

I am very new to Sony Vegas and I'm not even sure if it's the right tool for the job, so please forgive me if this is a ridiculous post.

I have trimmed all my clips so I now have the right video that I'm after. What I want to do next is add transitions between them.

I am dragging the next clip over the top of the first clip to get the transition, but when I do that it shows the end of the 2nd clip first and then jolts back to the beginning of the second clip. The transition itself is just what I'm after, but I want the 2 to overlap from the end of the first to the beginning of the second.

I'm sure I'm doing something stupid, but I am so new to this I can't work it out.

Any help much appreciated.

Thanks!

What transition have you selected ?

It happens on all the transitions, but the one I want to use is disolve.

What I want is a simple cross fade with no black between the 2 clips.

Cross fade is the default but it's possible you have changed the default. You can check and/or change this.

Please supply a Screen Grab of the Events on the Tracks. I think I know what you got there, but to save time=confusion please load a screengrab - yeah?

.. .

Barr,
    you are probably overlooking something simple. If you can't screengrab, check Options / Preferences / Editing > automatically overlap etc. first and then go through the (Show me how) interactive tutorial 'How to add a transition'. You'll find the tutorials under Help.

Blog Entries

Quote Originally Posted by Barr View Post
    but when I do that it shows the end of the 2nd clip first and then jolts back to the beginning of the second clip. The transition itself is just what I'm after, but I want the 2 to overlap from the end of the first to the beginning of the second.
    Therin lies the clue.