Thread: Live Performance Video Editing

Default Live Performance Video Editing

Hey everyone, I have been making videos for local bands in Michigan for about 8 months now, and was looking to get some feedback from some seasoned video editors. Here's one I did for a local heavy metal band named Wulfhook. All of my cams & equipment cost under around $1,200, and I am completely self taught. Let me know what you think. Thanks.

A couple of observations that may make your productions a bit better. Try and balance the cameras and edit out the zooming in and out.

Thanks for the feedback MB. What exactly do you mean by balance the cameras? I do try to cut out the zooming in & out as much as possible, but I do like the look of fading in or out of a zoom & into one of the tripod cam shots. My girlfriend & I hold the 2 closer up cams & I try to incorporate as much of each of the band members as possible, so I am pretty active with movement & zooms.

It's great to get lots of long shots and close ups etc. BUT it doesn't look very professional to show the actual zooming in and out unless you are doing it for effect. You could shoot a long shot with camera 1, then before you are zooming in, cut to a different camera while the zoom takes place, then back to the first camera with the close up after the zoom in has finished.

By balancing the cameras, I mean get each of the cameras images looking as though they could have come from the same camera. Example the camera looking at the drummer is a lot less saturated than your zooming in and out camera shooting from the front. I don't mean the black and white one which you obviously did for stylistic/artistic reasons.