Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 33

Thread: Video render is choppy and/or frozen

  1. Default Video render is choppy and/or frozen

    Hello,

    This is my first post - I am new to video editing, but know my way around and would greatly appreciate some advice on my rendering issue... "help me help you!"

    Here are some details on my project (more to follow given your input):

    Sony Vegas Version 11.0 (Build 371) 64-bit
    timeline is 15 minutes long and video preview playback is flawless
    all tracks render except video tracks which are choppy and/or frozen

    I am unable to render with ANY output format where the video isn't choppy and/or frozen...
    Ideally, I would like to render with the "AVCHD 1920x1080-60i" template for the final product.

    2 cameras were used; CANON VIXIA HF R200 & CANON EOS Rebel T2i
    many video files are used in the project, here are some property examples:

    Properties for CANON VIXIA HF R200:
    General
    Name: 00007.MTS
    Folder: D:\Fraps\2012 FITES 200 MAN LAN\Film\Canons\vG.shank
    Type: MPEG-2 Transport Stream
    Size: 790.25 MB (809,220,096 bytes)
    Created: Tuesday, March 13, 2012, 6:49:41 AM
    Modified: Friday, February 24, 2012, 11:07:26 AM
    Accessed: Tuesday, March 13, 2012, 6:49:41 AM
    Attributes: Archive

    Streams
    Video: 00:04:29.770, 29.970 fps interlaced, 1920x1080x12, AVC
    Audio: 00:04:29.770, 48,000 Hz, Stereo, Dolby AC-3
    Properties for CANON EOS Rebel T2i:
    General
    Name: MVI_1251.MOV
    Folder: D:\Fraps\2012 FITES 200 MAN LAN\Film\Grealish
    Type: Sony AVC
    Size: 1.95 GB (1,996,127,061 bytes)
    Created: Tuesday, March 13, 2012, 7:05:41 AM
    Modified: Saturday, February 25, 2012, 3:07:54 AM
    Accessed: Tuesday, March 13, 2012, 7:05:41 AM
    Attributes: Archive

    Streams
    Video: 00:05:39.039, 29.970 fps progressive, 1920x1080x12, AVC
    Audio: 00:05:39.039, 48,000 Hz, Stereo, PCM
    PC Specs:
    OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit (6.1, Build 7600)
    Processor: AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 965 Processor (4 CPUs)
    Memory: 16384MB RAM
    Graphics: AMD Radeon HD 6900 Series

  2. #2

    Default

    shankdog,
    Vegas 11 build 371 was the initial build and very buggy. Update to one of the last 64-bit builds, e.g. 683 or 701.

  3. Default

    Quote Originally Posted by vkmast View Post
    shankdog,
    Vegas 11 build 371 was the initial build and very buggy. Update to one of the last 64-bit builds, e.g. 683 or 701.
    when upgrading to the latest build (pro 11, 701), would my project stay intact or would I have to start all over?

  4. #4

    Default

    shankdog,
    they should stay intact, unless there's a Mr Murphy lurking somewhere.

  5. Default

    Mr Murphy is always lurking that's what I'm afraid of! I posted this same topic on another board and they are providing some additional feedback, so I'm going to wait before attempting build/version upgrades, however, it is good to know that suggestions thus far are leading toward that solution as opposed to video format/compatibility issues... Like I said, my timeline is 15 minutes long and the video preview playback is flawless, so I was confused when rendering was so choppy (even though I still hear the audio from the video just fine). If anyone else has any ideas/input, I'm all ears

  6. #6

    Default

    shank,
    I'd update to build 683 or 701 anyway and if you're afraid of the lurker, save the project with another name too first in case you'd want to go back to b 371 (which you won't). If that doesn't work I hope Grazie and co. will come up with something else on the Cow.
    Meanwhile, if you even consider upgrading to v12, now is the time to do it. The offer below is valid for today 12/12/12 only.
    Sony Creative Software - Online Store - Upgrade to Vegas Pro 12 from Vegas
    Last edited by vkmast; 12-12-2012 at 05:45 PM.

  7. Default

    Ha, you found my other post, "...I hope Grazie and co. will come up with something else on the Cow..." totally caught me off guard -- thanks for the advice and sharing the deal!

  8. #8

    Default

    No worries.

    You're going to need to understand the differences between Interlace and Progressive. More to the point what happens when you put both into a single project and expect them to perform equally well when rendering to "a format".

    You also need to consider updating your VP11, do this after reading and absorbing the detail in the White Paper I pointed you at.

    Mostly, with a stable Vegas platform, this s/w can perform miracles of rendering, but sometimes, just sometimes you need to give it a helping hand. You also say you have your system and media on the same drive. THis becomes a problem when using the CPU intensive process of rendering. THis again becomes even ore of issue when you are attempting to do what you are . . attempting to do.

    When I have an issue with footage that is behaving badly, I render to a lossless format and reintroduce it into the Project mix. But there again I've got 4 internal drives, a drive bay for an extra SATA drive and all of these are separate to my System drive. I'm running VP12 Build 394 and I have Preview set to 2gb and my GPU set on.

    ... ... ...

  9. Default

    Is this Graham "Star Wars Emperor" Bernard from the Cow? If so, you really are helping me learn as I go here and its entirely up to you at this point, but if you'd still like to test my media then you can find it here on my dropbox:

    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/4573735/00060.MTS
    (~76mb)
    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/4573735/MVI_1225.MOV (~81mb)

    Quote Originally Posted by Grazie View Post
    When I have an issue with footage that is behaving badly, I render to a lossless format and reintroduce it into the Project mix.
    Not 100% how to do this, but I'll look into it.

    Cheers!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Posts
    10,851
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by shankdog10 View Post
    Is this Graham "Star Wars Emperor" Bernard from the Cow? I
    He is one and the same. And a very helpful fellow too. inspires you to find out/work out the answers by giving you just enough information to do so. Far better than spoon feeding.
    Tim

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Choppy video after render.
    By WhatTheFlup in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-05-2012, 08:21 PM
  2. Vegas Movie Studio: Render 1hr 14 project = 1hr 1 min render (video only)
    By glmccready in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 01-20-2011, 11:55 PM
  3. Frozen frame when going from.mov to .flv?
    By beanguy in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-11-2009, 07:46 PM
  4. main screen frozen!
    By Lalo in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-18-2007, 02:47 PM
  5. video frozen
    By handydreams in forum The Perfect Video Editing PC
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-13-2007, 07:53 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •