Thread: 2 Minute University Assignment Short Film. Tips?

Talking 2 Minute University Assignment Short Film. Tips?

Hi,
    I'm currently studying film at university in London. For our most recent assignment we were given a script from a film (without being told what the film is) and were told to create a film from that script.
    Here is this film:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HXlyBy_qQ_o

The film is titled 'The Kid on the Beach'. If at all possible, could you please check it out and let me know what you liked/what you would improve?

Thank you so much,
    Chris Brooker
    Got a moment to spare? Check this out
    http://www.youtube.co.uk/ChrisMiBrooker

Apart from the fact that it's driving me crazy not knowing were the script is from, I liked the lighting and camera work. I think there was far to many titles a the end. There was only 2 actors and three crew. The end credits should reflect that and not repeat Chris did this and he did that and this and Luke did the sound but Chris also did this and that.

Quote Originally Posted by Midnight Blue View Post
    Apart from the fact that it's driving me crazy not knowing were the script is from
    AFAIK, it comes from a 1994 film named ""Casa de Lava". Casa de Lava (1994) - IMDb

Blimy Tim, you're the man.

Blog Entries

I like the opening shot, but the camera is on the piss - all the buildings are leaning.
    You probably have a reason, but I did not like the framing in many of the shots -the eye lines seemed too high and you frequently cut the tops off heads. The worst case of this is in the two shot at fro example 0:20 where the guy's head is (mostly) in frame and the girl's head is chopped off halfway sown. I can see the faming for this is to get the guy's hands in (and the urn) but you really need to keep an eye on the seconday subject - especially as she has lines and attention is therefore drawn towards her (and I suspect the deliberate wobbliness only emphasises this.