Thread: t3i settings for twixtor

1. Default t3i settings for twixtor

Hello,

I'm a noob, learning as I go. I'm attempting to shoot some video with my t3i (efs 18-55mm lens) to use with the slo mo software twixtor. What are the camera settings I need? This will be outdoors in full sun (what would i need to change for indoor lighting?)

I have searched around and found the following settings off a youtube video:

I have tried iso 200, av all the way down (3.5), and shutter speed all the way up to 4000, movie record size 1280 x 720 60fps.

With these settings, the picture is way too dark. I think I need to change the apeture, which I thought was done by turning the clickwheel but that changes the shutter speed (4000-60).

Someone straighten me out.

Thanks

Blog Entries

In very simple terms, those settings you are changing all affect the amount of light in your picture. They will not really affect the quality of slow motion. Assuming you shoot at 60ps, I would use a shutter speed of 1/120, keep the iso low and adjust the f-stop do that the preview has the brightness you want. Change the f stop b holding the av button as you turn the wheel.

3. Default

f-stop is apeture, right?

yeah right! for twixtor use iso 100-200 f3,5 and the important part is the fps..you have to change the quality from 1080p to 720p and 60fps..the shutter speed should be (2xfps) in video..so you have to go for 120 because if you increase the shutter speed you will have a jelly effect wich is not nice..I supose you are a starter and maybe you should try at auto iso at the begining! You can install magic lantern which is a great tool for your t3i btw!

5. Default

thanks a lot guys! I will try your suggestions tomorrow.