Thread: Documentary filming

Default Documentary filming

Hi there, i am a student in my first year. I have been asked to film a band on tour for a documentary they are going to try and get aired on national Tv, my question is, what would be the nest camera i could get for this kind of shooting?

I already have a Canon 550D, should a get a new camera or just invest in better lenses for my current one?

Cheers

Blog Entries

Personally, unless you have an assistant and a sound recordist, I would forget all about DSLRs and get yourself a camcorder. Something without a large chip, a 1/2 inch or 1/3 inch is the maximum I would suggest. If you're short of funds, something like a secondhand XH A1 or Z1. Then get to know it so well you can operate it without looking.

Blog Entries

Rob's absolutely right. Filming a documentary like that you need to be up and running in split seconds as you never know when the action is going to take place. When the police pull the band over for a spot check and demand they empty out all the flight cases, when the singer has has a few too many and is bad mouthing the lead guitarist, when the guy on the door is not letting a member of the band into his own gig because he's left his pass somewhere - these are all situations where you need to be ready to rock and roll without thinking.
    Film making is about content and look. If you can get both that's great. Content with a "video" look works. A "cinema" look without content isn't a film at all.
    Tim

Slightly surprised a student in their 1st year is asked to do this with (aparently) little guidance . . . and don't Colleges have camcorders for their students?
    Am I underestanding he's expected to go on-tour (maybe over a week-end?).