Thread: Help required Re: Settings in CS4 to capture HDV footage to burn to BluRay DVD

Question Help required Re: Settings in CS4 to capture HDV footage to burn to BluRay DVD

I am a competent Premier Pro 2 user. I have two Canon XH-A1 (miniDV) tape camcorders and since their purchase have always filmed in HD. One recent previously completed project has been requested on BluRay DVD - my first. A photographer friend has the complete CS4 package including Premier and he has promised to loan his (heavy duty) PC whilst on holiday in three weeks time, therefore I am asking for your assistance. The PC has a Pioneer BD-RW BDR-205 BluRay burner. He says he has not used premier CS4 previously therefore cannot help me with the initial settings required in order to capture the footage - also the settings required following editing to burn to BluRay disk. I would appreciate any help as it will be a very tight learning curve for me and your help would be gratefully received. Many thanks in anticipation, John

There must be someone out there who can assist me? Isn't there? John

3. Default

I'm confused, are you wanting to take an existing project and export it to Blueray? Surely that just requires you exporting your HD footage into HD rather than DV? What am I missing?

I may be incorrect, but thought CS4 Premiere relied on external apps, like Adobe Encore to recordings to disk. But, I am not sure CS4 Encore was immediately able to handle Blu-Ray.
    (see Adobe Community: Adobe Media Encoder -> Encore - H.264 Blu-ray).
    However, I am sure Premiere (and or Adobe Media Encoder) can create a file which would be suitable for any other DVD/Blu-Ray creation software.
    There were several patches to CS4; and I recommend checking all the updates have been applied.

Thanks Guitarboy2828 & Tim Andrews for your responses,

Firstly Guitar Boy, I assumed the same but not having had my hands on CS4 (or CS3) I just wanted confirmation.