Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: "In the streets of Barcelona" - Mini-Doc on Street Musicians

1. Default "In the streets of Barcelona" - Mini-Doc on Street Musicians

Hey guys,

I was in Barcelona two weeks ago and was travelling around while I felt enchanted by this instrument's sound: it's called Hang, or space drums. I've never seen a street band gather so many tourists while in BCN, so I stayed around also.

Funny story though, this brazilian lady started talking to me and I then realized she traveled to BCN in the same plane as I did. She recognized me, and little did I know, she was the girlfriend of the guy playing Hang.

So I had my camera and my newly bought Tascam DR-40 (no external mics though) and decided this was a great opportunity to get out of my confort zone and try this out. Taped the concert, got some clips of the tourists and then interviewed the brazilian guy.

This is my first attempt at a mini-doc. Lots of mistakes here, but we gotta do things and try them out to know where do we fail and what do we have to get better at. The sound is also not perfect, but all-in-all I think the end project was pretty nice for the first time I did something totally improvised.

I'd love if you could watch it and give me some criticism Hope you enjoy it!

I think you did a good job for your first go at something like this. In videos like this I always like to see extreme close ups of the instruments.

Blog Entries

Looked good and sounded good. When it's appropriate, such as here, built in mic on your Tascam do a percfectly good job. It's not a concert recording and it's not a dubbed voiceover so some background noise is not only acceptable, it's desirable.
    Tim

4. Default

Midnight Blue: I'm afraid I only have a 18-55mm and a 50mm, so I'd have to get pretty close to them to have close ups, which I didn't want to do so I wouldn't distract the tourists from their show. Trying not to be too invasive, but you're right, that would be super!