Thread: My first video, Bushcraft basic woodcarving.

Default My first video, Bushcraft basic woodcarving.

Hi guys,

i'm completely new to video editing and filming, I've just uploaded my first video to youtube. i would really appreciate it if you could give a novice some tips on both edititng and filming to improve my video.

Thanks,
    Ste

With videos like this the sound is very important. On this occasion I think you get away with it BUT it wouldn't take much wind or other background noise to make the audio more problematic. I would recommend getting a mic closer to you. This will give you better audio and increase the production value and professional appearance of your videos.

It's good that you zoomed in to give us a closer look at what your doing but rather than cropping the image. Simply do it again with the camera repositioned. It will give you a better quality image on the close ups.

The only other thing to look out for is the colour balance try to do a manual white balance on the camera before filming and so long as the light doesn't change you will have less trouble trying to keep continuity.

I thought you did a very good job over all especially considering this is your first video. I hope the above tips help you in the future.

Well done.

Quote Originally Posted by Midnight Blue View Post
    With videos like this the sound is very important. On this occasion I think you get away with it BUT it wouldn't take much wind or other background noise to make the audio more problematic. I would recommend getting a mic closer to you. This will give you better audio and increase the production value and professional appearance of your videos.

It's good that you zoomed in to give us a closer look at what your doing but rather than cropping the image. Simply do it again with the camera repositioned. It will give you a better quality image on the close ups.