Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: DSLR for studio recording ?

1. Default DSLR for studio recording ?

Hey you guys.

I've promised a friend of mine to help him set up a studio for recording his videos. The idea is to make instrument tutorials like for guitar, piano, bass and drums. Currently he's got a Canon HF200 if i remember correctly. He's considering buying a DSLR so he can get multiple views while not having to play the same stuff twice and moving all his equipment time and time again. Since i have some experience in still photography and a couple of different lenses and stuff for my Canon, i thought it would be obvious to buy himself a DSLR. He also wants to transfer the stream directly into the mac.
    So i went on the interwebz and found that it wasn't as easy as just buying a camera and plugging in the usb connecter. Apparently they get to warm and cant really tether video over usb connections and also they cant do any long recordings.
    So what are your takes on my friends problem? Is DSLR out of the question?

Btw. I'm new here, so I sincerely hope I haven't broken any kind of "newbie etiquette" I should know about

Hi, first off, you can relax, I know video or photography forums can be a huge pain to take part of, but this is not this kind of community here. So please feel welcome, know that you are.

Then. I think DSLRs really like controlled environments and well planned shootings when it comes to video. So I'd be inclined to say that the DSLR can be a good solution for what your friend is trying to do. However, there are a few downsides.

1st, manual focus, which means that it'll work best with someone actually operating the camera while your friend is busy being the subject. there are workarounds tho, but it's much easier if, say, you operate the cam while your friend does his thing in front of it.