Thread: Been given a job to replace 10 year old PC, Help!

Default Been given a job to replace 10 year old PC, Help!

Hi all,

This is my first post here. My good lady's father is an occasional videographer (certainly less than 10 years ago), and has given me the task of making up a new desktop PC for him to do that. I'm more than happy to research the field (as a musician, I understand that side of things when it comes to hardware components, however I am using a MacBook Pro and have lost touch with all things PC)

His system is old, hardware wise he is using a Matrox rtx100 extreme. I can't remember the rest of the specs but you can imagine the ballpark of a ten year old system.

Budget hardware wise is about 1500. He wants realtime transitions/playback if possible (these are his statement not mine!).

Now the other thing, he has always used Premiere 5.1, and knows his way around it. Would this work with Windows 7, and would it be pointless putting on the new build as it would not take advantage of 64 bit architcture and chipsets etc?

I have told him that he may have to jump into a later Premiere to take advantage of the hardware, and there's a likelihood that it wouldn't run with Win7 anyway!

He also mentioned that his matrox card had software which improved the performance of Premiere, apparently letting transitions happen without rendering.

Any advice greatly appreciated!

London, England

Hi there,
    Certainly using the same-again software should help . . . more or less everythihg should be in the right place....However, to check whether it will work, you should find a Premier Forum (Adobe?) [ I don't use that software] and ask there. However, a modern PC will be much faster, even if you have 32-bit program. Again looking at the age it's likely to be 32-bit, but worth checking.
    Furthermore you may be lucky and be offered a bargain "upgrade" which would introduce some new features.