Thread: dv avi problem

Default dv avi problem

Hi, I just found the site. Due to the members it's very informative and highly helpfull. Thanks to those who have wrote what I have learned from already and to those that I will learn from in the future. I'm pretty new to Premiere but hopefully I can be as helpfull to others sometime in the future.

For the moment; I have a problem that I think is hardware related. In the past I was making clips for the net, I was using virtualdub and after saving the file as avi it was really slow and jerky. After converting to .wmv it wasn't a problem and loss in quality was fine considering the use.

Now I have other motives that need higher quality, I am having similar problems with the avi files in premiere pro 1.5, I can't afford the loss in quality in converting to .wmv now though. It also makes editing a nightmare as they have the same slow/jerky condition when working in sequences.

If I import an avi file and export it as microsoft avi I can then have it run smooth enough to edit, it also plays back smooth on a media player. It's exporting as dv avi where the problem is, it has the same slow/jerky result.

I am running 1.6mhz procesor with 768 mb ram at the moment, is this the problem? I'm stuck with that for a little while yet, but hoped perhaps that my assumsion that this is the reason maybe wrong. I also hoped that someone could help by offering an answer or a confirmation to this.

Thanks,

David.

Blog Entries

Welcome!

What is the source of your video files?

Up until this morning I was using a usb2 webcam and capturing directly into studio 9 plus and exporting as avi from there. This quality is no use now though.

I got a Mustek dv camera to do me for just now, when using it as a pc cam the quality is good enough for my purpose. I'm not sure about keeping this long though, it's .asf format (this .asf thing is new to me) and I have to capture with WMM and export as avi from there.

David.

Blog Entries