Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Sony Vegas 5 - No Picture, No Audio ?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    London
    Posts
    4

    Default Sony Vegas 5 - No Picture, No Audio ?

    I've been handed a copy of Sony Vegas 5, a number of movie clips and clips from various events held by our department and asked to create a small presentation about the growth of the the department over the past 20 years (the idea being to correlate key moments in the business with scenes from the movies). It supposed to be a 30 minute presentation however i can't get my head around sony vegas. I've been nominated as i made the fatal error of showing of a small home movie i created usind ulead video studio.

    I am having problems with some clips but others are fine. In some clips the audio is fine on the timeline but the video is not visible. In others the video is fine but the audio doesnt work and in others all is well. All the clips are in avi format and all mpeg layer 3, other than that they are all different. Some of the videos are encoded with xvid, others with divx 5, some of the audios are 44100 Hz, some 48000 Hz, the majority are between 128kbps and 192kbs.

    Is there a specific fomat the avi's should be encoded before they can be added to the timeline or what am i doing wrong?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,513
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    Is there a specific fomat the avi's should be encoded before they can be added to the timeline or what am i doing wrong?
    Generally speaking, if they came from a DV camera, they be "DV AVI" which is the de facto editing standard in Windows Non Linear Editors.

    If you're a Video Studio wizz, a great time saver would be to get your hands on that at work...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    London
    Posts
    4

    Default

    The office clips are DV AVI however the film clips are standard windows audio video format for windows.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,513
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by n1koolkat
    the film clips are standard windows audio video format for windows.
    I take it that's "wmv"? That's most likely the source of your problem. Try converting them to DV AVi first. Just had a stroke of genius... Windows Movie Maker is designed to work with WMV and can output DV AVI. You do the maths.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    London
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Sorry, but they are not wmv. They are either Divx5 or Xvid encoded avi files converted from DVDs. I only have one wmv file and that works fine.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,513
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    Then converting them to DV AVI will be a piece of proverbial piss:

    http://www.videoforums.co.uk/guide-faq-90.htm#9

Similar Threads

  1. Sony Picture Package won't start
    By FredCam in forum Blu Ray, DVD, SVCD and VCD authoring
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-22-2008, 10:51 PM
  2. audio problems in sony vegas 6.0
    By janner66 in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 03-09-2007, 02:20 PM
  3. Why do I hear gaps during audio playback? Sony Vegas 6
    By K-Dog in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-22-2006, 12:29 PM
  4. Making audio go surround in sony vegas
    By toymachine2009 in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-25-2005, 08:02 AM
  5. Audio out out of sync with picture - help please!
    By clewers in forum Blu Ray, DVD, SVCD and VCD authoring
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-21-2005, 01:25 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •