Thread: camera advice required

Default camera advice required

Hi all ... I'm still new to this and am looking to buy a camcorder to practice my movie making and editing skills
    I have seen the Sony hvr-a1e and was wondering if anyone had any experience of using the camera and if it would suit my needs
    The one I have seen is 2nd hand for around the 500 mark
    Any help would be greatly appreciated
    Thanks

It won't help posting twice in this forum so I removed your other post.

If you tell us what you will be filming and exactly what your needs are, it may help us to advise you better.

Hi
    I'm not too sure exactly what I'm gonna be filming to be honest
    Im thinking mostly family landscape and wildlife
    So a mixed bag I'd say
    I'd really like a camera that will give good quality footage with the ability to edit

If you stick to the main 3 makes of Sony, Panasonic, Canon,and do your homework on the specs. you won't go far wrong. I would stay away from Hard disk recorders and go for one which shoots on to a memory card. Ilike THIS site for reviews which would be a good place to start. You can always check back if you have specific questions about a camera.

Good hunting.

Hi midnight .., thanks for the advice.., why do you recommend sd card as opposed to the tape type of camera ?? Is sd better??
    Also I have seen the Sony a1e... What are your thoughts about this camera ..??
    Thanks

Memory cards are the future. Tapes drives are being phased out, In fact I don't know of any new consumer tape drive camera. I also think the work flow is easier just to copy the files to the computer rather than capture in real time from a tape. I may be wrong but I think you can record at higher bit rates to the modern cards than you can to HDV tapes.