Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Need help choosing video editing software

Default Need help choosing video editing software

Hi everyone, I'll try and keep this brief...

I'm pretty new to making movies and have up to this point been using the original Windows Movie Maker to edit short movies. I recently purchased a new Sony camera which takes .mp4 videos. I soon found that Windows Movie Maker will not take .mp4 files. It took me a while but I found a free video converter program online and began converting the .mp4 files to .avi so that I could edit them.

My problem is that when I convert the original .mp4 files to .avi there is a large decrease in quality. The final editied product from Windows Movie Maker is converted yet again to an even worse looking .wmv file. The reason I bought a new camera is for better quality videos but by the time I finish editing them the quality is horrible. (very frustrating)

I need help choosing a new video editing software and could really use some help...

I need the software to have these qualities...

1. Takes .mp4 files
    2. The final product has no decrease in quality.
    3. Has a reverse effect

Also, The main effect I use is slow motion and I mostly use the fade transition to go from one scene to the next. Do any paticular softwares allow you to fine tune both the amount the video is slowed down, and how long the fade between scenes takes? Using Windows Movie Maker the only option is a 50% slow down and I am often left wanting to fine tune it futher to my liking. The fade transition between scenes is also quite a bit longer on WMM than most other people's videos I've seen (I assume using different editing software). I would like to recreate exactly some of the movies I've already done on WMM, so I was hoping to be able to lengthen the fade duration to match the WMM fade.

Thanks for any help you may provide!
    Last edited by neweditor1; 09-06-2012 at 11:02 AM.