Thread: Software Recommendation for Guitarist

Default Software Recommendation for Guitarist

Hello!

First-timer to the forum, nice to meet ya.

Here's my question: I'm an absolute newb when it comes to video editing and all its nuances. Seriously, I know nothing about it all. That said, I have some neat gadgets for recording my electro-acoustic guitar songs straight to my computer. As for the video of me playing, I just use the webcam.

Here's my question: I'd like to make a video of a song that requires two independent guitar parts, which I would record separately and then sync up. This video illustrates what I'm talking about: Power Rangers Theme (Split-Screen Cover) - YouTube (I know it says "Power Rangers" but the cover is still badass, check it out.)

Is it possible to do this on WMM so I wouldn't even have to buy a new program? If so, are there any tutorials available? What's a user-friendly, cheap, bare essentials movie-editing program that could get the job done otherwise?

I will say kind things about you if you can help me out. Thanks in advance!

Welcome,
    WMM will be OK for basic editing, cutting out errors, bits where someone gets in the way, or the Landlord rings the bell.

What's yr camcorder?

Are you recording vids for private record, or are you hoping to promote yr music . . . and so need a Professional result?

Editing is both Easy and Difficult - the more you do it, the harder it seems to be, since your standards will be raised. When you watch the DVD you notive the faults and the process starts again . . . . (although oddly Pros get it right first-time!).

(( WMM is rather too simple IMHO. )).
    Last edited by vidmanners; 09-02-2012 at 03:16 AM.

Thanks for the reply. I'm ghetto as hell, the video will be recorded with my webcam. I'm not particularly interested in making the cleanest, snazziest video (wrong forum I guess?). Recording my music for friends is just a hobby.