Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Premier 6.5 and proper firewire capture card?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    8

    Default Premier 6.5 and proper firewire capture card?

    I have premier 6.5 and am now ready to get a firewire card. I also read that some cards do some of the rendering, etc ... I dont want to spend more than $100, I would like to spend $20, but $100 is my absolute max .. any suggestions?
    Sony DCR-TRV250 mounted on the bumper of my 2004 stage3 WRX.
    Adobe Premier 6.5
    XP Pro
    athlon XP 3000 (2.2ghtz) 400fsb
    512meg pc3200ddr 400fsb dual mode ram
    80 gig 7200rpm ide133 hd
    Geforce FX 5200 w/ svid out 128meg ddr

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Campina Grande - PB, Brazil
    Posts
    27

    Default

    I've seen an ASUS Firewire 1394 adapter for about $20 so you'll just have to look around. Any basic Firewire card will do so just take a look around at your local PC store.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,514
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    The only difference in cards under $100 will probably be the software bundled with it.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
    Posts
    5,191

    Default re: proper firewire cards

    When i needed a firewire card recently I found a handy little gem at dabs.com (I'll dig out the ref if anyone is interested enough). Before, I only had a small handfull of USB1.1 ports. The card from DABS.com has three USB2 and two firewire ports on the same PCI card for about 18.

    I decided this was a good purchase.

    My Dazzle Fusion (for analogue capture from VCR) is plugged into a USB2 and my Sony DCR-TRV33E plugs nicely into one of the firewire ports.

    I use XP Pro and it detected it straight away. I've had no need whatsover to perform any sort of driver install other than what plug-and-pray did for me automagically.

    The card also has an internal USB2 port. Has anyone any idea what that might be used for? My best guess as to its use would be to mount internally, an external USB2 HDD, to save desktop space. Does this work etc etc???

    Alan

Similar Threads

  1. Do I need a capture card, or can I just import via firewire?
    By knowyouremeny in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-01-2006, 01:22 AM
  2. Premier Pro Capture with ATI Rage Theater Video Capture card
    By Nolubez in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-15-2006, 07:37 PM
  3. Capture In Premier Pro - Firewire
    By graham099 in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-02-2005, 01:45 PM
  4. Capture Card vs firewire on the board
    By Chrisdoc in forum The Perfect Video Editing PC
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-22-2005, 12:41 PM
  5. firewire AND capture card...?!?!?!?
    By neonblue05 in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-15-2004, 08:14 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •