Thread: 2011 WRX w/ Flycam

Default 2011 WRX w/ Flycam

First time using the flycam let me know how I did I know I need more practice balancing and flying it but hey its my first time.

2011 Subaru WRX w/ Flycam - YouTube

Surrey, UK
    Blog Entries

As you maybe aware car vids aren't exactly my thing, but I must say I found this very good and watchable.
    Nicely paced with a good variety of shots.
    Being harsh (as it it generally very good) I thought some of the shots could have been composed a bit better - for example the shot at 2:46 has the car slightly off-centre. To me this looks like you'd aimed for centre, but missed. Better to have it fully centered or more obviously off-centre.
    The same shot has a tilt down which was pretty smooth. Came to a stop. Then tilted a bit more. Watch for this.
    Most of the cuts worked as they were between very different shots, but be careful when you cut between similar shots. The cut at 1:33 (from the almost full whot of the car to just the front) gives a feeling of having jumped bakwards in the pan.

From a personal taste point of view, I have t say I didn't think the film burn FX worked at all well, either with the subject or the music. They looked like they had just been bolted on because of a trend.

As for first time with the flycam - I'm very impressed!

I really appreciate the honesty and feedback! I didn't really notice that I was off centered, but now I look at it and it screams at me haha. I see what your saying with the tilt, I didn't have a rubber band :(. Also thanks for the tip on the pan, I never really noticed that, but your right it jumps you back in time, which is exactly the opposite of what I want the viewer to experience! yes, the film burn was for trend purposes...haha you got me! Thanks again for such a detailed response, I love coming back to this forum because at least 1 or 2 people really go in depth to try and help me learn and get better! Thanks!