Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Need Help Achieving This Effect

Default Need Help Achieving This Effect

Hello all..

I am new to editing videos, and I'm trying to learn some new tricks. I wish I knew what this effect was called, but I have no idea how to go about creating it. In the first video, right when the drums come in on the song, you see the video "stutter." A similar effect is used in the Kanye West "Can't Tell Me Nothing" video. Randomly, the the image "stutters" with the music. It looks really cool, and I'm hoping some of you could help me create the same effect. I'm sorry if I don't know the basic terminology to describe this effect. "Stutter" is the the closest word I could think of to describe it.

Thank you!

I recommend you look closely to understand why the picture appears to 'stutter'. You might see that during those periods, a new image is superimposed over the original. In this instance, it looks as if the superimposed image is the same as the original except that it (a) only contains one color of the original RBG, and (b) is offset from the original by a few pixels.
    You have not said what software you are using. If your video editing software does not have a filter to extract colours; then I suspect the superimosed image could be created using any standard Graphics application.

Quote Originally Posted by TimAndrews View Post
    I recommend you look closely to understand why the picture appears to 'stutter'. You might see that during those periods, a new image is superimposed over the original. In this instance, it looks as if the superimposed image is the same as the original except that it (a) only contains one color of the original RBG, and (b) is offset from the original by a few pixels.
    You have not said what software you are using. If your video editing software does not have a filter to extract colours; then I suspect the superimosed image could be created using any standard Graphics application.