Thread: Grainy results on DVD output

Default Grainy results on DVD output

Hi all,
    It's taken me a while to find you, wondered it you can help. I've just built my system to start doing some home video editing. As I'm new to this I was wondering if I have the process right at all, because my end product looked very grainy on the TV. My camera is a Sony DVR (similar to http://products.sony.co.uk/productde...?id=11_61_5911 ). I output the video to my computer using the USB cable. My computer is an AMD XP3000, 1GB RAM, 250 SATA HDD, Radeon 9800XT Video card. I use Pinnacle 8se to get the video footage and do all the editing. When I finish (including transitions etc), I use Pinnacle to write to a DVD.

The problem is when I look at it on the TV, it looks blocky and not completely the 25 fps for PAL. I'm not sure where to even start to improve this or if this is as good as it gets.

Can you help me improve my DVD or point me in the right direction?

Thanks in advance....

Blog Entries

A first step would be to use the i.LINK (DV OUT) port on you cam, rather than USB. This will improve your input video quality.

Thanks Marc, that was a fast reply and a great piece of advice. I've noticed a significant difference on the screen alone (along with sound). I noticed your response to another persons question on widescreen captures and you mentioned to use TMPGEnc v2.521.58.169. Can I ask you 3 questions:

When getting the video from my camera (with the ilink !!) should I use the DV quality or MPeg2 quality option (Pinnacle 8se)? Ultimately I will burn to DVD but I wondered if there was a difference. I think the DV quality looks better on the computer screen.

Secondly, should I use the TMPGEnc and then re-use the end product to edit with in Pinnacle? Then write to DVD. Is this the best process?

Finally, how do I know what frame rate my video is after I upload to my computer?

Sorry if these questions are rather basic...

Thanks again !!

Blog Entries